What is Spring?

The earth tilts at an angle of 23.5 degrees

Spring is a season. There are four seasons in a year, spring, summer, autumn and winter. Each season is marked by different weather and hours of daylight.

We have seasons because the earth takes a year to move round the sun, which gives us light and warmth, and because the earth tilts at an angle of 23.5 degrees. In winter we tilt away from the sun and in the summer we tilt further towards the sun. However, on the first day of spring the sun shines equally on both the north and south hemispheres of the Earth.

When is Spring?

In Serbia, and the rest of earth’s northern hemisphere, the first day of spring is on 20 March. On the first day of spring the number of hours of daylight and night are the same, so there are 12 hours of daylight and 12 hours of darkness.

This is because the sun shines directly over the equator, which is an imaginary line that divides the earth, half way in between the North Pole and South Pole.

What Happens in Spring?

From 20 March onwards in the northern hemisphere, the hours of daylight get longer and longer until summer, when you will notice that it is still light at bedtime. So when summer begins on 21 June there are over 16 hours of daylight and under 8 hours of darkness.

The reason for the days getting longer is because our country, along with others in the northern hemisphere is tilting more and more towards the sun. As the sun’s rays reach us more directly the days get warmer as well as longer.

Spring Weather

The weather in spring can be mixed. The end of March is often windy and April is known for its showery weather followed by sunshine. Spring nights can be frosty and cold. Days can be sunny and warm.